The Garbage Pail Kids Need Your Help This Christmas


If my math and memory is correct, I was in the fourth grade when one of my classmates showed me a handful of cards featuring unabashedly grotesque art spoofing a toy parents fist fought over during the holiday season.

Nasty Nick and Up Chuck were the first two cards I saw. It was the coolest thing I had ever seen. Then I realized they weren’t just cards. No. They were stickers. I was immediately hooked and had to get some of my own.

512746046_o

I still like Garbage Pail Kids and occasionally grab a pack of the new generation when I see them in a store. So when I learned a documentary called 30 Years of Garbage: The Garbage Pail Kids Story was in the works I nearly shit my pants.

I obsessively collected Garbage Pail Kids for years afterward. Unfortunately the first series of cards that featured Nasty Nick and Up Chuck were replaced with the second series of characters by the time I convinced my mom to start buying them for me, so I only had a handful from the initial run. I didn’t let that happen again. From series two through series 13 I made sure to get them all, and I put every one of them in a binder in numerical order.

934_NastyNick_original

Like I said, I was obsessed.

The collection was stolen a few years ago, but I won’t bore you with all the details regarding that bit of shenanigans. It hurts just thinking about it.

The point to all this isn’t really about my childhood obsessions per se, but it is to alert everyone to the Kickstarter campaign associated with the Garbage Pail Kids documentary.

We generally don’t pimp many Kickstarter campaigns here at Acid Pop Cult, but occasionally a project like this one comes along and we are compelled to support it.

Now through January 5, 2014, the filmmakers are trying to raise $75,000 to complete the project. So if you are as old as I am, and had a childhood obsession with the Kids, you might want to consider supporting it.

Find out more about the documentary on the 30 Years of Garbage: The Garbage Pail Kids Story Kickstarter page.

Sincerely, your Acid Pop Cult pal…

o_bruised-lee-94a-garbage-pail-kids-1986-81e9

Leave a Reply

