The Internet’s One Millionth Post About Dr. Strangelove, But It’s Not a Review, We Swear

Dr-Strangelove

Acid Pop Cult is a house divided on the issue of Stanley Kubrick. The snail-like pacing of many of his movies is among the many reasons some here dislike his films.

I fall on the like side of things, but even at that I’m only hotly passionate about a select few films, which bring my attitude toward his entire body of work to a tepid lukewarm.

One of those films that get me hot is Dr. Strangelove: Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb.

You can stop worrying now though, I’m not here to write the 999,999th blog post on the net spouting my opinion of a Top-25 film on the American Film Institute’s list of the best films ever.

Dr-Strangelove-Stanley-Kubrick

I just found a link to the documentary Inside Dr. Strange Love: Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb online and watched it. It’s great stuff, so I thought I’d share the resource.

It’s one of the bonus features from the Blu-Ray release of the film. So if you own it, I’d recommend watching it to be a priority if you haven’t already done so. If you don’t own it, you’re in luck. It’s online.

It’s got a few great stories about on-set experiences with Peter Sellers while he essentially improvises his way through three different characters in the film, the special effects techniques used, and Kubrick’s obsessive nature.

The behind the scenes how-they-did-it hunk was especially interesting. Amazing the amount of work that just went into the passing landscapes seen through the windows from interior shots from within the bomber.

Check it out here:

Leave a Reply

